Aleksandar S. Vujić (1945, Senta) graduated from the Faculty of Music in Belgrade, with degrees in piano (BA 1968, the classes of Andrija Preger and Olga Mihailović, MA 1970), conducting (1975, Dušan Skovran and Živojin Zdravković) and composition (1983, Stanojlo Rajičić, Petar Ozgijan and Vasilije Mokranjac). During his studies he was four times awarded as a student with the best average grade.

His compositions have been printed in the USA, Germany, Italy, Hungary and Serbia.

The  exclusive publisher for A. S. Vujić’s choral works is Synkope Verlag from Germany.

He is active as a conductor of a number of choral and instrumental ensembles (particularly the Sinfonietta Belgrade, of which he is chief conductor and art director).

Since 2000 he is full professor at the Belgrade Faculty of Music.

His oeuvre consists of choral and chamber works (piano, violin, and cello solo, piano and violin, cello and violin, string duo, trio, string quartets), compositions for chamber and symphony orchestras etc.

His work as a composer brought him several international awards (1993 Third Prize at the International Choral Competition in Trento, Italy; 1995, First and Third Awards at the Robert Schumann International Choral Competition, Zwickau, Germany).

- Der Rauch / Smoke

B. Brecht
Small house
Under the trees, by the lake
Smoke rises from the roof
Were it not there
How inconsolable
The House, the Trees and the Lake
Would be