Thursday, 4 October 2018, 6 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

A Review within the Review
Musicological introduction to pieces by Brian Ferneyhough, Sofia Gubaidulina, Poul Rovsing Olsen, and Erkki Jokinen
Talks by Ivana Miladinović Prica and Milan Milojković, musicologists

Thursday, 4 October 2018, 8 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Gala opening of the Festival
Presentation of the Stevan Mokranjac Award
Ensemble Metamorphosis

Conductor: Ivan Marković
Mladen Đorđević, trumpet * * *

Friday, 5 October 2018, 6 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Doctoral artistic project
Hanan Hadžajlić, flute

Friday, 5 October 2018, 8 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Belgrade Baroque ensemble
Katarina Popović and Katarina Aleksić, baroque violin
Rastko Popović, baroque viola
Srđan Stanić, viola da gamba
Jovana Topalov, harpsichord

Saturday, 6 October 2018, 6 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Nikola Peković, accordion
Nemanja Stanković, violoncello
Slobodan Gerić, double bass

Saturday, 6 October 2018, 8 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Presentation of the Aleksandar Pavlović Award
Construction Site New Music Ensemble
Ana Gnjatović, voice
Conductor: Ivan Marković
  • Luis Delgado (Colombia) - 
Hálitos for flute, violin, and double bass
  • Ana Gnjatović (Serbia) - Phonation Mix 2 – Mémoires for voice and electronics
  • Jonathan Graybill (USA) - 
Fantasy on a Theme by Charlie Chaplin for violin and piano
  • Milan Mihajlović (Serbia) - 
Image for chamber ensemble
  • Sunyeong Pak (South Korea) - 
Remnants (revised) for flute, violin, violoncello, and piano
  • Jana Andreevska (Macedonia) - 
Mandala for eight performers
  • Demian Rey (Argentina) - Tajimamori for violin, violoncello, and piano

Sunday, 7 October 2018, 6 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Construction Site New Music Ensemble

Sunday, 7 October 2018, 8 pm, Students’ Cultural Center, Great Hall

Vladimir Dinić, baritone
Hanan Hadžajlić, flute
Predrag Nedeljković, bass clarinet
Goran Marinković, bassoon
Maja Rajković, piano
Ljiljana Vukelja, piano
Goran Kostić, double bass
Srđan Palačković, percussion
Svetlana Savić, Marija Šumarac, electronics Monday, 8 October 2018, 6 pm, National Library of Serbia - Atrium Promotion of editions of works by composer
Ivan Brkljačić

Monday, 8 October 2018, 8 pm

Presentation of the Pavle Stefanović Award
Balkan Connection Brass Quintet
Mladen Đorđević, trumpet
Mario Lončar, trumpet
Viktor Kirčenkov, French horn
Marko Ilić, trombone
Krunoslav Babić, tuba

A word from the selector

Welcome to the 27th International Review of Composers!
This year’s International Review of Composers call for pieces was answered by 400 scores, 54 of which were selected for the programme, to be performed in eight concerts over five festival days. In addition to these works, composed over the last three years, the programme also includes works by two eminent authors, Sofia Gubaidulina and Brian Ferneyhough, who, although coming from rather different poetics, have made a deep mark on 20th- and 21st-century music, each in their own way, standing out among a small group of leading figures of contemporary music creativity. The Festival will also include pieces by a Finnish composer who is generationally close to them but not too well known in Serbia, Erkki Jokinen, as well as a work by Danish composer Poul Rovsing Olsen. The Review will open with works for large chamber ensembles and string orchestra, while most of the programme comprises chamber works intended for various smaller ensembles, focusing especially on the duo as a specific medium, as well as works for solo instruments – by themselves or combined with electronics. The Belgrade Baroque ensemble will present pieces written for baroque instruments, engaging the peculiar timbre of those old instruments for the purposes of a new kind of musical expression. Seeking to encourage further writing and extend the repertory for this ensemble, there is a special focus on works for brass quintet. On this occasion, the selected quintets will be performed by the BC Brass ensemble comprising musicians from Slovenia, Croatia, and Serbia, whose members have many years of experience in chamber and solo music-making, as well as in leading positions in some of the region’s most prestigious orchestras (the Belgrade, Zagreb, and Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestras). This year’s Review will also include a concert by Hanan Hadžajlić, a doctoral student of flute at the Faculty of Music in Belgrade, her final doctoral project, featuring a selection of recent works for flute and electronics, including Mnemosyne, a composition for bass flute and tape by Brian Ferneyhough. Also, there will be performances by the Metamorphosis and Construction Site ensembles, led by Ivan Marković, and many other prominent musicians dedicated to performing contemporary classical music.

The programme will be complemented with musicological analyses and presentations of works by Sofia Gubaidulina, Brian Ferneyhough, Erkki Jokinen, and Poul Rovsing Olsen, as well as a presentation of an edition of works by the composer Ivan Brkljačić.

Branka Popović