Thursday, 7 November, at 8pm / Americana Hall, Belgrade Youth Centre (DOB)


LP Duo – Sonja Lončar and Andrija Pavlović, analogue synthesizers

Guest of the concert: Ivan Marjanović, electronic drum

Friday, 8 November, at 8pm / Studio 6 of Radio Belgrade

Construction Site Ensemble

Marina Nenadović, flute, Veljko Klenkovski, clarinet, Mladen Drenić and Slađana Cvejić, violins, Ljubomir Milanović, viola, Srđan Sretenović, cello, Boban Stošić, double bass, Karolina Bäter, recorder (guest of the ensemble)

  • Bill Doerrfeld (USA): Groove 1217, for two violins, viola, cello and double bass
  • Miloš Zatkalik (Serbia): Four pieces that could not look any other way,for clarinet and cello
  • Anna Korsun (Ukraine): Son-Barva, for flute, clarinet, violin and viola
  • Stanislava Gajić (Serbia): Diva, for flute and double bass
  • Dejan Despić (Serbia): Danze Rustiche op. 215, for violin, viola and cello
  • Thomas Simaku (UK): Soliloquy V – Flauto acerbo, for recorder
  • Hikari Kiyama (Japan/Belgium): String trio, for violin, viola and cello
  • Ionel Petroi (Serbia/France): Face 12 & 18, for string quartet

Saturday, 9 November, at 8pm / Hall of the National Bank of Serbia

Ensemble 4Saxess Slovenia

Lev Pupis, soprano saxophone, Oskar Laznik, alto saxophone, Primož Flajšman, tenor saxophone, Dejan Prešiček, baritone saxophone

Sunday, 10 November, at 5.30 pm / Hall of the National Bank of Serbia

Music for 2 (+1)

Relja Turudić, Zoran Anić and Miloš Janjić, guitars, Katarina Milošević, Neda Arsenijević and Aleksandar Ružičić, flutes, Slađana Cvejić and Miljana Popović, violins, Atila Sabo, Nemanja Marjanović and Mirjana Bubić, violas

Sunday, 10 November, at 8 pm / Hall of the National Bank of Serbia

One, two, and three accordions

Vladimir Blagojević, Miloš Katanić, Darko Dimitrijević, Petar Mirkov, Nebojša Aćimović, Aleksandar Stefanović, Luka Lopičić, Damir Odobašić

Monday, 11 November, at 8 pm / Hall of the National Bank of Serbia

Studio 6 Ensemble

Milana Zarić, harp, Karolina Bäter, recorder, Borislav Čičovački, oboe, Nenad Marković, trumpet, Jelena Dimitrijević, violin, Ivana Grahovac, cello, Vladimir Blagojević, accordion, and Jasna Veličković, keyboards

  • Nickos Harizanos (Greece): Iho op. 34, for recorder, violin and cello
  • Božo Banović (Serbia): Not-too-shiny sea, for oboe, cello, and harp
  • Svetlana Maksimović (Serbia):To the shadow of the predecessors, for oboe, ­violin, viola, cello and harp
  • Branka Popović (Srbija): lines & circles, for recorder, trumpet, harp and ­accordion
  • Bojan Barić (Serbia/Finland): Trigonometry, for recorder, oboe, trumpet and tape
  • Kotoka Suzuki (Japan): While Ripples Enlace…, for alto recorder and electronics
  • Jasna Veličković (Serbia/the Netherlands): Oxygen, for recorder, trumpet, ­keyboard, harp and accordion
  • Cornelius Cardew (UK): Paragraph 6, whole ensemble

Accompanying Program

Wednesday 6 November, at 8 pm / Hall of the Composers Association of Serbia


Huba De Graaff (the Netherlands): Lost Sounds – Some developments are going too fast

Saturday 16 November, at 11 am–2 pm; 4.30 pm–6.30 pm / Americana Hall, Belgrade Youth Centre (DOB)


Rastko Popović: Electric viola in contemporary music

Sunday 17 November, at 11 am–2 pm; 4.30 pm–6.30 pm / Americana Hall, Belgrade Youth Centre (DOB)


Rastko Popović: Possibilities that electric viola provides to composers

A Word from the Selector

Honoured guests,
This year’s twenty-second International Review of Composers was conceived under the slogan A step into the unusual.  Even though, perhaps, every annual Review could be treated in a similar way – as a kind of a step into the unusual, the reason behind this year’s slogan can, primarily, be found in the diverse range of instruments the audience has not had the chance to encounter at the Review yet. The entire evening programmes will, for the first time, be performed on instruments such as analogue synthesizers, saxophones, accordions, guitars etc.

Even though the majority of concerts will be held in already residential premises of the Review – Hall of the National Bank of Serbia, it has become a tradition of the Review to search for new, interesting and attractive concert venues in the city. One of those steps into the unknown shall be taken in the Americana Hall of the Belgrade Youth Centre. Furthermore, holding a concert at the premises of Studio 6 of the Belgrade Radio could also be unusual. Besides the specificity of the studio’s ambience, that concert will also have its media expansion – an additional step. Namely, for the first time in the history of the Review a concert will be broadcast live on a national television channel (RTS Digital). At the same time, that very concert will be broadcast live on a national radio station as well (Radio Belgrade III Programme).

After several decades of examining the features of the sound of contemporary music and getting closer to its highest achievement levels, this year the Review also continues taking a step towards new ensembles which owe their distinctiveness to the desire for sophisticated artistic presentation of new music. Therefore, we will have the opportunity to meet with the best accordion ensemble in our country at the moment, which comes from the Faculty of Philology and Artsin Kragujevac. The members of this ensemble will have their premiere performance in Belgrade at the Review. The new ensemble for contemporary music Studio 6, which consists of musicians from Novi Sad, Belgrade and Kragujevac, will exhibit all of its distinctiveness derived from its range of instruments, from piccolo recorder to water trumpet, at the closing ceremony of the festival.

Besides the aforementioned, the programme shall also be presented through the continuation of collaboration with ensembles which have already taken part in the Review – world renowned duo LP, as well as the up-and-coming ensemble Construction site. With their unorthodox commitment to interpreting contemporary scores, both ensembles have recommended themselves for a repeated appearance at the Review.

Finally, during the five days of the festival, fifty different poetics of composition by twenty-eight domestic authors and twenty-two foreign composers shall be presented.

Hoping that this year’s Step into the unusual offers the audience of the Review a refreshing programme as well as that it steers the Review towards future explorations, I wish this year’s Review: Good luck!

Belgrade, October 2013

Ivan Brkljačić, Artistic Selector of the programme